BKU split: Top leader splits to form ‘apolitical’ farmers’ group, hits out at Tikait brothers – Reuters


Lucknow, May 15

Cracks within the Bhartiya Kisan Union came to light on the anniversary of the death of its founding president Mahendra Singh Tikait on Sunday, with a senior national official announcing the formation of a separate team here.

Bhartiya Kisan Union (BKU) Vice President Rajesh Chauhan said he took the decision after being ‘insulted’ and alleged the group sided with political parties in the election , an apparent reference to this year’s UP Assembly polls.

Its outfit will be called the Bhartiya Kisan (Arajnaitik) Union, Chauhan said. “Arajnaitik” means apolitical in Hindi.

Meanwhile, the BKU expelled Chauhan and six other bureau members for anti-holding activities.

Reacting to the formation of the new team, BKU chief Rakesh Tikait in Bulandshahr said, “Those who left the organization did so at the behest of the government. It won’t affect us and the BKU will get stronger. Tikait also attacked the central government for “attempting to divide the farmers”.

Earlier in the day, a senior official of the new team, Harinaam Verma, told PTI that Chauhan announced the formation of the team in Lucknow on the anniversary of the death of chief farmer Mahendra Singh Tikait. .

“Chauhan will lead the BKU(A),” he said.

Speaking at an event here, Chauhan alleged he had occasionally tried to make his point but was ignored.

Top BKU leaders Naresh Tikait and Rakesh Tikait “do not listen to the workers and pay no attention to the problems of the farmers”, he alleged.

“They got into bad company and insulted us in one way or another. I wholeheartedly supported Naresh Tikait and Rakesh Tikait but when the elections came they deviated from the ideal of Mahendra Singh Tikait,” Chauhan said.

“They ventured into political chaos and made this organization a puppet in the hands of political parties. I was extremely saddened and pained by this,” Chauhan said.

“Rakesh Tikait was influenced by political parties. He campaigned for one party while opposing the other party,” Chauhan said, but did not name any political party.

On the BKU(A), Chauhan said he only respects the decision of workers and farmers.

Chauhan also said that he formed the new organization and did not open the doors to Naresh Tikait and Rakesh Tikait as shown in some sections of the media.

“They (Tikait brothers) belong to BKU while my organization is BKU(A). This is a new organization and we don’t want any controversy,” Chauhan said.

Meanwhile, the BKU expelled Chauhan and six others, according to a press release. The other six expelled are Anil Talan, Mangeram Tyagi, Digamber Singh, Dharmendra Malik, Rajbir Singh and Harinaam Verma.

Mahendra Singh Tikait was an influential agricultural leader in western Uttar Pradesh.

He was born on October 6, 1935 in the village of Sisauli in Muzaffarnagar district and was the founding president of the Bhartiya Kisan Union.

He died in Muzaffarnagar on May 15, 2011 at the age of 75. The BKU was founded in 1987 and its current president is Naresh Tikait. PTI

#BKU #tikait

Previous The enemy sends additional artillery to the Bryansk region to shell the Chernihiv region - war update
Next Rising water in Gunung Suku: Rescue team finds other body parts and clothes of missing hikers